watermark logo

Up next

Hey Satan - Hey Satan (2017) (New Full Album)

Published on 20 Jan 2019 / In Knowledge & Religion

Hey Satan is a Stoner Rock band with something different about them. This is a band that blends moments of Classic Rock, Desert Rock and Psych for a heavy and interesting sound of their own. You can tell that the band have been influenced by bands such as Kyuss, QOTSA and Led Zeppelin. Opening track – Fallon City Messiah – is perhaps named after a certain individual that we all know and love. The song does have a Clutch style vibe with the delivery of both the vocals and riffs. Though those initial feelings start to disappear as the song progresses. Heavy Blues Rock spliced with Desert/Stoner Rock that see Hey Satan play with huge confidence. An almost perfect combination of classic stadium rock swagger and modern sounding Stoner sounds.

Legal Aspect Of Love – has a vintage QOTSA feel to it then it explodes with huge blasts of Stoner Rock/Metal riffs that you don’t really expect. The lyrics have quite a playful and humorous feel to them that matches the crazy instrumental work the band are currently playing. Sunshine Blues – is a more straightforward Stoner Rock track with the band playing heavy slow-paced riffs at the start before the heavier moments appear. The vocals by Insert Name Later are cool, focused and precise. The music is once again influenced by the more familiar sounds of Desert/Stoner Rock scene. Hey Satan does inject some much needed creativity along the way. In Cold Blood – is one of the standout songs on the album. As the band play a more direct style of Psychedelic Stoner Rock with superb instrumental work that demands your full attention. The screeching guitars towards the end add a sense of chaos with the band still in full control of their music.

1991 – sees the band add a thunderous dash of Blues Rock with the music deciding if it wants to be a seventies sounding loud rock anthem or a modern day sounding stoner rock/metal sing-along. The song finds the right balance between the two different styles of music. It seems that Hey Satan wanted to create the loudest album they possibly could without them venturing into the world of heavy metal. They succeed on all counts as this is a very loud album from start to finish. Other great tracks to check out are Song For A Lost Mariner, Black Flags Down and Bastardizer. Hey Satan’s self titled debut album is a celebration of all things HEAVY and LOUD. The production is first rate. All in all, Hey Satan have delivered a brilliantly entertaining debut album that is packed full of anthemic songs. This is one album you’ll be playing over and over again.

Review by Steve Howe at Outlaws Of The Sun http://outlawsofthesun.blogspo....t.com/2017/01/hey-sa

1. Fallon City Messiah - 0:00
2. Legal Aspect of Love - 3:51
3. Sunshine Blues - 7:15
4. In Cold Blood - 11:33
5. 1991 - 15:05
6. Song For A Lost Mariner - 18:56
7. Red Light Women - 22:34
8. Bastardizer - 27:12
9. Black Flags Down - 29:11
10. This Meat Stinks, Honey ! - 32:34

Support Hey Satan by purchasing the album here https://heysatan.bandcamp.com/releases


Support the continued funding of this channel, become a Patreon https://www.patreon.com/MeadowOfDoom

Check out Stoned Meadow Of Doom 2 for more excellent full albums! - https://www.youtube.com/channe....l/UCkqjcQwTNvsxQWT44

Stoned Meadow Of Doom Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/StonedMeadowOfDoom/

Join the SMOD Nation Facebook Group! https://www.facebook.com/groups/188446978378035/

Show more
0 Comments sort Sort By

Up next